Painting and Drawing Still Lifes

Still Lifes

So winter was dragging on and I thought my students needed to paint something a bit cheerful and colorful.

pics 1.29.15 038So I was thinking still life’s. It’s been an acceptable fodder for artistic creation for 1000+ years, and, as such, useful and hopefully entertaining for my students.  I decided to do it with all ages and so composed a note home to parents requesting objects suitable for still lifes.

pics 1.29.15 001This is how it started.  I pushed all the tables into the middle and sat the students around the tables.  I then put various items along the middle of the table.

pics 1.29.15 009Just like this.  Some students used chalk..

pics 1.29.15 010And some…

pics 1.29.15 022used watercolor.

pics 1.29.15 006A happy participant

 

 

pics 1.29.15 015Here’s a nice composition.

pics 1.29.15 020

A nice black and white dry brushed painting came out well.  I’m not keen on the red heart addition.  a lot of times when when I’m painting with younger students I’ll have to pace about to stop them from not stopping painting and adding stuff that really does not help the piece.  Of course, this is my own opinion, they(the students) would think I’m being a bit stodgy in my own personal aesthetic framework.

 

One response to “Painting and Drawing Still Lifes

  1. Pingback: Still Life Painting and Drawing | Mr.Tayse-Art-Teacher

Leave a Reply

